Visalia DUI Court Information
Arrested for a DUI in Visalia
If you've been arrested for a DUI in Visalia or elsewhere in Tulare County, you should consult a local DUI defense lawyer in order to understand all your options. Getting a DUI is a difficult and confusing process. You face criminal penalties as well as administrative penalties. It's important to have the best legal DUI representation, to have someone stand by you, to fight for your rights, and protect your interests.
Terry A. Wapner and David E. Jones have experience defending DUI clients in the central valley for over 65 years combined. They are well-known in the legal community as DUI experts among Visalia judges, lawyers, and prosecutors. Terry Wapner and David Jones are familiar with the local Tulare County police, courthouse officials, prosecutors and judges on your DUI case.
What Happens After a Visalia DUI?
After a DUI arrest in Visalia, you face both administrative and criminal proceedings. These are separate proceedings, and each has serious potential penalties. You only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing. After a DUI arrest, you have a very short time to request an administrative DMV hearing to keep your license from being automatically suspended. If you don't request the hearing within that short window, you lose your right to a hearing.
There are important deadlines involved in each DUI case, and an experienced DUI attorney will act fast to make sure you maintain all your options for resolving your case. If you have a DUI lawyer, they can represent you for DMV hearings as well as the criminal matter. Our attorneys have been doing DMV hearings for more than 20 years. These administrative hearings have unique rules and a different process than the criminal proceedings.
Where is the Visalia Courthouse?
If your DUI arrest took place in Visalia, your case will be heard within the Tulare County Superior Court in Visalia, California.
221 South Mooney Boulevard
Visalia, CA 93291
Phone: (559) 733-6841
Visalia DUI Penalties
Visalia DUI's operate under California Penal Codes and California Vehicle Codes for DUI penalties. California provides for minimum and maximum sentences and penalties for DUI related offenses. Therefore a judge has some level of flexibility when it comes to handing down your sentence for a DUI. If you are arrested and charged for a first DUI offense, you will generally be subject to the following:
- Minimum jail time from 10-20 days, which take place in a work program
- Approximate fine of $2,000
- From 3 to 9 months attending a DUI school
- Possible participation in Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous
- Probation from 3 to 5 years
- Possible alcohol restriction during the probationary period
- Driver's license suspension for six months by the DMV
Visalia DUI Attorneys
Remember, an arrest does not have to mean a conviction. You have legal rights, and Wapner Jones, PC will help you make the best decisions for your future depending on your individual case. If you are arrested for a DUI in Visalia or the surrounding area, contact our offices immediately to discuss your case. We make sure that each client gets the personalized attention they need for the best possible outcome. Schedule your initial consultation today.
Proof of Our ExcellenceTrusted & Recommended