Second Offense DUI in California
Protect Your Driving Privilege with Our Fresno DUI Attorneys
If you have been charged for driving under the influence (DUI) in California after being convicted of this offense
once before, you may already be familiar with the DUI laws and processes of the state.
What you may not anticipate is how sharply the penalties can escalate
for subsequent convictions that fall within the state’s 10 year
Penalties for 2nd offense DUIs in California can include:
- Fines and penalties between $1,800 and $2,500
- 1 to 2 year license suspension
- Up to 1 year in jail
- 3 to 5 year probation after release
- Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation
You will also be expected to file an SR-22 insurance form for a three-year
period. During this time, you can expect that your insurance premiums
will increase dramatically. In order to protect yourself from these harsh
consequences and more, you need to talk to our Fresno DUI lawyers from
Wapner & Jones, P.C.
Facing your 2nd DUI in California? Our years of experience let us challenge
any DUI charge!
Contact us today to learn more.
Heightened Penalties for Chemical Test Refusal
At the time of your arrest, if you refuse to take a chemical test, the
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will automatically suspend your license
for two years, if you have a previous DUI on your driving record. This
penalty is an extension of California’s implied consent law and
it is an administrative penalty, or one that cannot be contested in a
court of law. It is highly recommended that you do not refuse to take
a chemical test, even if you know you are going to test for a blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) level above 0.08%.
Our DUI attorneys know how to challenge a chemical test result based on
certain grounds, such as:
- Inaccurate machine calibration
- Inappropriate storage of blood or urine sample
- Results were misread by untrained operator
- Breath sample contaminated from outside sources
Alcohol Education Programs for 2nd DUIs in California
After being convicted of a 2nd DUI in California, you will also be required
to attend an extensive alcohol education program. The course is generally
spread out over 18 months, including 52 hours of group counseling, 12
hours of targeted drug and alcohol education, 6 hours of community reentry
observation, and routine “checkups” during the first 12 months.
For many people who have been convicted of multiple DUIs in California,
the restrictions and requirements of the alcohol education program is
often reported as the worst form of penalty.
DUI Defense Starts with Your Decision to Contact Us
The state of California will not provide you leniency and may even seem
eager to get a conviction out of your case. Do not step into court without
proper preparation and a professional in your corner. Talk to our Fresno
DUI attorneys today during a
free initial consultation.
Don't face your 2nd DUI charge alone. Get defense by
calling (559) 257-4707.
We defend clients all across the Central Valley, including Fresno, Tulare,
Madera, and Kings counties.