First DUI Offense Lawyer in Fresno
Defending DUI in Fresno, Kings, Madera & Tulare Counties
It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle when you are under the
influence of drugs or alcohol. This includes both legal and illegal drugs,
medical marijuana. California law states that you will be arrested for driving under the
influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent or
higher. If you are a commercial driver, you will be arrested with a BAC
of 0.04 percent or higher. For drivers
under 21 years old, you can be arrested with a BAC of only 0.01 percent.
If you are facing charges for your first DUI offense,
contact us today to start your defense.
What Happens When You Get Your First DUI in California?
If you are convicted of your first DUI in California, you generally may
be facing a misdemeanor. The penalties can include fines from $390 to
$1,000 and two days to six months in jail. Jail time is not required if
you are granted probation.
You may also be placed on probation for three to five years which can limit
you from driving with any alcohol in your system, require you to submit
to roadside testing, and not participate in any other criminal activity.
Penalties for a 1st DUI Offense
If a driver is charged with a DUI in the Fresno area, there are a variety
of penalties that may apply. In Fresno, a typical first offense will result
in the following:
- Driver's license suspension;
- Jail time of up to 6 months, (mandatory minimum 2 days);
- Fines and fees totaling approximately $2,200.00;
- Enrollment and required attendance in a 3 or 9 month DUI program.
For a commercial or a driver under the age of 21, the penalties may vary.
A commercial driver will have their commercial license endorsement automatically
suspended for one year, in addition to suspension of their personal driver's
license, and any other penalties and fees.
DMV Administrative Per Se Penalties
After a DUI in California, the department of motor vehicles (DMV) has administrative
penalties. These are known as administrative per se (APS) penalties. For
example, if you are pulled over by Fresno police, the officer has the
right to take your driver's license if you fail a breath or blood test.
If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be automatically
suspended for one year.
You have only 10 days from the date of the arrest to to request an administrative
DMV hearing, where you can contest the automatic suspension. This is your
only opportunity to contest the driver's license suspension, so you must
request the hearing. You can have a Fresno first DUI attorney present
during the APS hearing. Even if you lose the APS hearing, you can request
to have the suspension reviewed within 15 days.
Mandatory Alcohol Education
After a DUI conviction, you will be required to sign up for and attend
an alcohol education program. This is also known as DUI school. The type
of program will depend on your blood alcohol content at the time of your
arrest, and if you had any prior DUI convictions. You will also have to
pay for the mandatory program, which can cost $500 or more.
In the state of California, you will find more than 400 approved alcohol
education programs. The curriculum of each program may differ depending
on the individuals and the types of alcohol issues involved. For most
people charged with their first DUI offense, the program is a 30-hour/
3-month alcohol education course. For those with a higher BAC at the time
of their arrest (0.20 percent), they will have to complete a 60-hour/
Contact a Fresno First DUI Attorney
If you have been arrested for a first-time DUI offense, you should not
simply plead guilty. You can do better! Call Wapner Jones P.C. for a consultation.
We will discuss the facts of your case, and inform you of all your options.
Facing charges for your first DUI?
Contact (559) 257-4707.