Hit and Run Defense Lawyers in Fresno
Defending Hit & Run Charges for 65+ Years. Free Consultation!
If you were involved in an accident where damage or injury occurred, you cannot leave the scene of the accident without providing proper documentation to the affected drivers or people involved. Leaving the scene of the accident without providing documentation can result in a "hit and run" charge. This is a criminal charge punished with significant fines, potential jail time, a criminal record and points on your driving record.
As a result, you may suffer the loss of your livelihood. Without the freedom to drive, you won’t be able to go to work and make an income unless you use an alternative transportation method or get someone to drive you. Further, your loved ones may never look at you the same knowing you got a hit and run charge, even if you didn’t actually commit this crime. This is why it’s crucial to retain our proven hit and run defense attorneys to advocate for your freedom and aggressively defend your case.
California Hit and Run Laws
California V.C. Section 20002 states that when you are involved in an accident that results in property damage only (no injury or harm to other people), you are required to stop, locate the driver or owner of the property damaged, and provide proper documentation. However, if you cannot locate the driver or owner of the vehicle before you leave the scene, you must do the following:
- Leave a note on the vehicle or property damaged in a visible location, with both the name and address of the driver and the owner of the vehicle involved
- Include a description of what happened
- Report the incident to the police department in the city where the accident occurred or with the California Highway Patrol (CHP)
California V.C. Sections 20001, 20003 and 20004 require that when the driver of a vehicle is involved in an accident resulting in the injury or death of another person, they are required to stop the vehicle at the scene of the incident and take all the actions mentioned above. In addition, the driver is required to render all reasonable aid to the injured parties.
Hit and Run Penalties
Hit and run charges can be classified as misdemeanors or felonies depending on the specific facts of your situation. Factors include the presence of a resulting injury, the extent of the damage, and your criminal history.
Misdemeanor hit and run: When a driver leaves the scene of a minor accident where there were no physical injuries, this will most likely result in a misdemeanor charge. Penalties include possible jail time of up to six (6) months and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Felony hit and run: When a driver leaves the scene of an accident that resulted in serious injury or death of another person, this will likely be charged as a felony. Penalties include possible jail time of up to four (4) years and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Fighting Hit and Run Charges Across Kings, Madera, and Tulare Counties
At Wapner Jones, PC, we have the competence and highly regarded reputation needed to guide you through the legal process from beginning to end. When you choose our hit and run defense lawyers to represent you, we can utilize our prosecutorial insight to prepare aggressive defense strategies in anticipation of the prosecution’s attacks. This can help you because we can think on our feet and confidently argue against the prosecution’s case.