Fresno Felony DUI Attorneys
Defending Felony DUI Accusations Across the Central Valley
Felony DUI accusations are extremely serious and must be treated as such. Thus, we strongly advise you to contact our Fresno felony DUI lawyers immediately after your charge so we can get started on devising a hard-hitting defense on your behalf. Depending on the situation, alcohol-related driving offenses can be charged as a felony rather than a misdemeanor. This generally falls under one of three categories:
- A fourth DUI within 10 years will be charged as a felony DUI.
- A DUI which causes bodily injury to another person will be charged as a felony DUI.
- A subsequent DUI within 10 years of a prior felony DUI will be charged as a felony DUI.
If you are facing charges for felony DUI, get defense from our Fresno felony DUI attorneys by contacting us today!
Bodily Injury Felony DUI
In order to be charged for a felony DUI involving bodily injury, you must have done the following:
- committed some traffic violation or neglected a duty imposed by law (such as speeding)
- injured another person (not including yourself)
- committed a traffic violation or neglected your duty imposed by law, resulting in bodily injury
What is California’s Three Strikes Law?
Most California DUIs are considered as misdemeanors; however, some alcohol-related offenses are considered felonies, and the Three Strikes Law may apply. California’s Three Strikes law adds specific penalties for offenders who are convicted of multiple serious felonies. The law states that “a defendant convicted of any new felony, having suffered one prior conviction of a serious felony to be sentenced to state prison for twice the term otherwise provided for the crime. If the defendant was convicted of any felony with two or more prior strikes, the law mandated a state prison term of at least 25 years to life.”
This means that a DUI offense that involves great or serious bodily injury or death can be a "strike" offense. Once you receive a "third strike" felony, you may be sentenced to life in prison.
Felony DUI Penalties in California
Penalties for a felony DUI are very serious, and potentially very costly to your future and career. A felony DUI may result in a minimum jail sentence of 180 days, or even state prison for a minimum sentence. Fines may reach $3,000 and your driver's license may be revoked.
A felony DUI may also require extended alcohol/DUI education in a state-approved program. Depending on the facts of your case, the program may consist of 30 months of counseling, alcohol and drug education, regular interviews and community service. In addition, you will have to cover the cost of the education program, which may cost over $1,000.
Insurance Costs After Felony DUI
If you manage to get your driver's license back after a conviction for a felony DUI, you will still have to file for an SR22 insurance policy for three years. This can double or even triple the cost of your insurance premiums, potentially resulting in financial turmoil if you don’t have sufficient funds to cover these costs.
Get Defense for Your Felony DUI Charges
Whether you are facing your first DUI offense in Fresno or even a felony DUI charge, you don't have to plead guilty. You have rights. Please contact the Fresno felony DUI lawyers at Wapner Jones, PC to schedule a free consultation. We will discuss the facts of your situation and advise you on your available options. Whether you've been arrested in Tulare, Kings, Fresno, or Madera counties, we're here to help.
Arrested for a felony DUI? Our Fresno felony DUI attorney can help. Call (559) 257-4707 today!
You've Been Arrested for a DUIWhat Happens Now?
Meet Our AttorneysRecognized Among the Best in the Central Valley
- Terry A. Wapner
- David E. Jones
- Bill Washam
Terry A. Wapner Terry A. Wapner
David E. Jones David E. Jones
Bill Washam Bill Washam