Fresno Third DUI Lawyer
What You Need to Know About California DUI Law
Just as with a first or second DUI offense, California provides for strict penalties for those charged with a third driving under the influence (DUI) offense. Law enforcement in Fresno will consider a driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher to be impaired. Although for drivers under the age of 21, the limit is 0.01 percent, and for commercial drivers, the BAC limit is 0.04 percent or higher. Additionally, driving under the influence of drugs, both illegal and legal, can result in a DUI charge.
Learn more about the penalties for a third DUI charge and how you can fight them by contacting our Fresno third DUI attorney today.
The Penalties for a Third DUI Offense in California
The penalties imposed after a third DUI offense in California are even harsher than those associated with the first or second DUI. This can include losing your driver's license for up to a year, fines of up to $2,500, minimum 120 days to one year in jail, and further California alcohol/DUI education through a state approved program. In addition, you will required to file for SR22 proof of insurance for three (3) years, which can triple the cost of auto insurance.
Additionally, if you refuse a breath or blood test after arrest, your driver's license will be automatically suspended for three years. This is because of California's "implied consent" laws, which assume a driver's consent to chemical testing in exchange for the privilege of driving on California roadways.
The state prosecutor may also request to have you remanded into custody out of a professed concern for the safety of the local community. The court will make this decision based in part on whether you will appear for pretrial hearings and later trial. An experienced DUI attorney can make all the difference in keeping you out of jail while awaiting your hearing. Local Fresno DUI attorneys Terry Wapner and David Jones are familiar with the local judges and prosecutors, and understand what it takes to secure your freedom during this difficult process.
Third DUI Alcohol Education Program
After a third DUI conviction in Fresno, you will be required to attend an even longer DUI/alcohol education program. This requires enrollment and attendance in a minimum 18-month program or 30-month program, which will include:
- Group Counseling (78 hours)
- Alcohol and Drug Education (12 hours)
- regularly scheduled interviews.
To learn more about defending your third DUI charge, contact our Fresno third DUI lawyers at (559) 257-4707.
You've Been Arrested for a DUIWhat Happens Now?
Meet Our AttorneysRecognized Among the Best in the Central Valley
- Terry A. Wapner
- David E. Jones
- Bill Washam
Terry A. Wapner Terry A. Wapner
David E. Jones David E. Jones
Bill Washam Bill Washam