Madera DUI Information
Arrested for DUI in Madera County
If you've been arrested for a DUI in Madera County, you should consult a local DUI defense lawyer to understand all your options. Getting a DUI is a difficult and confusing process. You will face criminal penalties as well as administrative penalties. It is important to have the best legal DUI representation, to have someone fight for your rights, and protect your interests.
Terry A. Wapner and David E. Jones have experience defending DUI clients in the central valley for over 65 years combined. They are well-known in the legal community as DUI experts among Madera County judges, lawyers, and prosecutors. Wapner Jones, PC are familiar with the local Madera County police, courthouse officials, prosecutors and judges on your DUI case. With our local experience and understanding, you will know what to expect before walking through the courthouse doors.
What Happens Next After a DUI in Madera County?
After a DUI arrest in Madera County, you face both administrative and criminal proceedings. These are separate proceedings, and each has serious potential penalties. You only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing. This is a very short time frame within which to request an administrative DMV hearing in order to keep your license free from an automatically suspension. If you don't request the hearing within that short window, you lose your right to a hearing. There are important deadlines involved in each DUI case, and an experienced DUI attorney will act fast to make sure you maintain all your options for resolving your case.
If you have a DUI lawyer, they can represent you in front of both your DMV hearing as well as the criminal matter. Terry Wapner and David Jones have been doing DMV hearings for more than 20 years. These administrative hearings have unique rules and a different process than the criminal proceedings. Wapner Jones, PC is highly experienced in handling both the criminal and administrative process in Madera County, and will represent you and your case throughout the entire DUI process.
Madera County DUI Penalties
Madera County DUI's operate under California Penal Codes and California Vehicle Codes for DUI penalties. California provides for minimum and maximum sentences and penalties for DUI related offenses. Therefore a judge has some level of flexibility when it comes to handing down your sentence for a DUI. If you are arrested and charged for a first DUI offense, you will generally be subject to the following:
- Minimum jail time from 10-20 days, which take place in a work program
- Approximate fine of $2,000
- From 3 to 9 months attending a DUI school
- Possible participation in Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous
- Probation from 3 to 5 years
- Possible alcohol restriction during the probationary period
- Driver's license suspension for six months by the DMV
The Madera County Courthouse
If you have been arrested in Madera County for a DUI, your case will be heard in one of two courthouses. For most people, their case will be heard at the Madera Superior Court, located in in Downtown Madera.
Madera Superior Court
209 West Yosemite Avenue
Madera, CA 93637
Phone: (559) 675-7734
However, you may be required to go to the second branch of the Madera Superior Court for your hearing. The Sierra Division of the Madera Superior Court is located in Bass Lake, California.
Sierra Division of Madera Superior Court
40601 Road 274
Bass Lake, CA 93604
Phone: (559) 642-3235
Fresno County DUI Attorneys
Remember, an arrest does not have to mean a conviction. You have legal rights, and Wapner Jones, PC will help you make the best decisions for your future depending on your individual case. If you are arrested for a DUI in Madera County or the surrounding area, contact our offices immediately to discuss your case. We make sure that each client gets the personalized attention they need for the best possible outcome. Schedule your initial consultation today.
Proof of Our ExcellenceTrusted & Recommended