In the state of California, if you are arrested under suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), the arresting officer is required to forward information to the DMV immediately. The DMV will receive a copy of a completed notice of suspension or revocation form and any driver license taken into possession. The DMV will then conduct an administrative review that includes an examination of the officer’s report, the suspension or revocation order, and any test results.
After you are free to leave the police department, you are free to request a hearing from the DMV within ten days of receipt of the suspension or revocation order. You will likely need the help of an experienced DUI attorney to get your license back. The DMV will review whether there is a basis for the suspension or revocation. If there is no basis, the suspension or revocation will be set aside, and you will be able to drive again.
The officer likely took your license from you at the time of your arrest. Your license can be returned to you at the end of suspension or revocation after you pay a $125 reissue fee to the DMV and file a proof of financial responsibility.
If your license was suspended after you refused to take a blood or breath test, your license cannot be returned until after a one-year suspension. If this is a second or third offense, your license will be suspended for 2 or 3 years, respectively.
Your best chance of keeping your license after a DUI arrest involves contacting an experienced Fresno DUI attorney. Wapner Jones, PC has dedicated its practice to DUI cases specifically. We understand California DUI law inside and out. Let us use our knowledge to defend your rights and freedom.
Contact us at (559) 257-4707 or fill out our online form to schedule a free case consultation today!