Sex Offender Registration in California
Get Answers from a Fresno Sex Crime Attorney Today
Under California law, any person living within the state who has been convicted
of a California sex crime is required to register with the police of the
city and/or county where they live in accordance with the Sex Offender
Registration Act. Also known as “Megan’s Law,” this
registry allows law enforcement and certain members of the public to identify
people living near them with histories of illegal sexual behavior. Since
sex offender registration can sometimes be permanent, registered sex offenders
are oftentimes forced to undergo extreme social scrutiny and endure restrictive
limitations on where they can live and work for the rest of their lives.
If you are facing sex offender registration in connection with an alleged
sex crime, or if you have been charged with failing to register, contact
the aggressive Fresno sex crime lawyers at Wapner Jones, PC today. Our
hard-hitting advocates have more than 55 years of combined criminal defense
experience and can provide the powerhouse advocacy you need to maximize
your chances of securing a favorable outcome for your situation.
Our numerous awards and accomplishments speak for themselves:
- The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 listing
- 10.0 “Superb” Avvo Rating for results and satisfaction
Proven history of
Our team of powerful advocates are standing by. Call (559) 257-4707 today
to discuss your case.
What Happens if I Fail to Register?
Registration as a sex offender has to be renewed every year within five
working days of your birthday. Likewise, registration also has to be renewed
any time you move to a new residence. Penalties for failure to register
under the Sex Offender Registration Act can be harsh. Knowingly and willfully
failing to register can result in fines and even jail time.
If the sex crime you were convicted of committing was a misdemeanor, failure
to register will also be a misdemeanor and carry a maximum jail sentence
of one year. If the conviction was for a felony, or if you have been convicted
of failure to register before, you will face felony charges with a potential
penalty of 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in prison.
Our team of advocates are intimately familiar with the most effective strategies
and the most compelling arguments necessary to guard your rights and pursue
a reduction or dismissal of your failure to register charge. Depending
on the circumstances, we may be able to employ the following methods in
- You did not willfully fail to register
- Your attempt to register was lost or otherwise not received
- You were falsely accused of failing to register
Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer Serving the Entire Central Valley
With so much at stake, you cannot afford to leave anything to chance. At
Wapner Jones P.C., we have the skills, knowledge and professional experience
to guide you through the legal process from beginning to end. If you are
required to register as a sex offender, or if you have questions about
any other criminal charges, do not hesitate to contact us today.
Fill out our online contact form or call
(559) 257-4707 to schedule a free consultation.